A Few Words From My Friend Dumpty

Dumpty on Life

Forethoughts:

I have decided to take a REAL big chance and allow a good friend of mine the chance to express himself. I know you are going to find Dumpty in need of mighty-prayer. After reading what he has to say I wonder if there’s a friend like Dumpty in your life?  Having said that the words and thoughts that follow are NOT the owner of this Blog.

Introduction:

My name is Dumpty D. Pressed and you may have trouble believing me but I love God! For sometime now I have been discussing life as I understand it with my good friend Crusty the Christian and there can be little doubt that we are not on the same page. And because we have agreed to disagree both of us are the better for our diversity. On several occasions because I am a technology challenged I have tried several times to set up my own blog but every attempt has proved to be futile (which further adds credence to my stance that life stinks) I have asked Crusty if I could use his blog to share how I feel and see life. And much to my surprise he has agreed even though it was with a great deal of reluctance. Not only that but he even agreed to allow me to use his blog do some follow up stuff from time to time! What a guy!  

life_stinksThis is the day that stinks!

In case you’ve not had a hardy laugh today here’s a joke that will do the trick. “This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalms 118:24 HCSB) That’s right, you read it right Psalms 118:24 is a J-O-K-E! And the joke is on us! And then there’s the song that says to accentuate the positive. Who ever wrote that song needs to get a life in the real world!

This is the day that stinks!

I will concede the LORD does not make junk and while he made this day but as the sun rose he went into hiding and stood by and watched the miracle of a new day crash and burn in a world mired in hopelessness. I would like to put the blame on us but you read, “This is the day the LORD has made.” Now if you ask me the day belongs to the LORD and not us so why should we take the blame because life in today stinks?

Now before you judge me to harshly think about this. If I am driving my car and run a red light and cause an accident. Whose fault is the accident my car or me? Of course the answer is a no brainer – it was my fault not the car. So if the LORD made today and it crashes and burns whose at fault the day or the LORD?

Don’t get me wrong in spite of what you may think I believe the LORD is God and I believe in him, I believe in Jesus, and I believe in the Holy Spirit. You are no doubt wondering how I can believe in the Divine Threesome and still think like I do. It’s really quite simple if God is the Supreme Authority then why doesn’t he assume responsibility for not exercising his Authority and take the stink out of today, the next day, the next day, and every day that follows today? If you don’t think God gave up his Authority then let me remind you of this scripture:

One day the sons of God came to present themselves before the LORD, and Satan also came with them. The LORD asked Satan, “Where have you come from? ” “From roaming through the earth,” Satan answered Him, “and walking around on it.” Then the LORD said to Satan, “Have you considered My servant Job? No one else on earth is like him, a man of perfect integrity, who fears God and turns away from evil.” Satan answered the LORD, “Does Job fear God for nothing? Haven’t You placed a hedge around him, his household, and everything he owns? You have blessed the work of his hands, and his possessions have increased in the land. But stretch out Your hand and strike everything he owns, and he will surely curse You to Your face.” “Very well,” the LORD told Satan, “everything he owns is in your power. However, you must not lay a hand on Job himself.” So Satan left the LORD’s presence. (Job 1:6-12 HCSB)

And how about this:

One day the sons of God came again to present themselves before the LORD, and Satan also came with them to present himself before the LORD. The LORD asked Satan, “Where have you come from? ” “From roaming through the earth,” Satan answered Him, “and walking around on it.” Then the LORD said to Satan, “Have you considered My servant Job? No one else on earth is like him, a man of perfect integrity, who fears God and turns away from evil. He still retains his integrity, even though you incited Me against him, to destroy him without just cause.” “Skin for skin! ” Satan answered the LORD. “A man will give up everything he owns in exchange for his life. But stretch out Your hand and strike his flesh and bones, and he will surely curse You to Your face.” “Very well,” the LORD told Satan, “he is in your power; only spare his life.” (Job 2:1-6 HCSB)

Now if God loves us as he illustrates his love by sending Jesus into the world to save us why did he give Satan his Ultimate Authority over our lives? Sure I will agree with you God did put limits on Satan which may qualify for not presenting with Satan 100% of his Ultimate Authority. But here’s my point how many people have given in to Satan and turned away from God? I hope I never get to witness first hand the number of souls in hell but even one goes against God’s love!

Today stinks because Satan is the authority of this world and Satan STINKS!

I hope you have already picked up on the fact that I believe in the bible because I do and one of my favorite books of the bible is Ecclesiastes. It is my favorite because it expresses what real life is all about.

“Absolute futility,” says the Teacher. “Absolute futility. Everything is futile.” What does a man gain for all his efforts that he labors at under the sun? A generation goes and a generation comes, but the earth remains forever. The sun rises and the sun sets; panting, it returns to its place where it rises. Gusting to the south, turning to the north, turning, turning, goes the wind, and the wind returns in its cycles. All the streams flow to the sea, yet the sea is never full. The streams are flowing to the place, and they flow there again. All things are wearisome; man is unable to speak. The eye is not satisfied by seeing or the ear filled with hearing. What has been is what will be, and what has been done is what will be done; there is nothing new under the sun. (Ecclesiastes 1:2-9 HCSB)

“Absolute futility… Everything is futile.” Not a day goes by but I I don’t struggle not only with one thing but multiple things. While on the surface it seems as if one of my biggest struggles with financial it really isn’t while it may involve financial resources it is about living. Gas $3.29 a gallon; almost $3.00 a pound for hamburger, $2.49 a gallon of milk (when on sale), over a $1.00 for a can of soup, over $1.50 for a loaf of bread; paying BIG BUCKS a month for health insurance that provides very little coverage, rising health care bills not paid by lousy heath insurance, unable to afford adequate health insurance; a 12 year old mini-van in need of major repairs; out of control utility bills; shall I go on? The other night I watched the President of the United States talking about the American Dream but what he was really talking about was the American Nightmare, a dream turned nightmare by one six letter word introduced in our world by Satan while God just stood by – greed.

It may seem as if I have given up on God and in spite of the fact that today stinks there will come a day when it won’t the day will come when Revelation 21:3-4 for each of us will usher us out of a world that stinks. “Then I heard a loud voice from the throne: Look! God’s dwelling is with humanity, and He will live with them. They will be His people, and God Himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. Death will no longer exist; grief, crying, and pain will exist no longer, because the previous things have passed away.” (Revelation 21:3-4 HCSB)

Crusty has tried to tell me that it is possible for a person to live as if the kingdom were a reality but each time he does it only makes me believe there is no way God’s kingdom will ever become a reality in this world until God puts his foot down and squashes Satan like a bug. I wish I was wrong, I really do but life has become like Humpty Dumpty who fell off the wall and all mankind can’t put Humpty Dumpty back together again. BUT GOD CAN PUT HUMPTY DUMPTY BACK TOGETHER BUT WHEN, I ASK YOU WHEN?


Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2009 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

 

 

 


About Crusty the Christian

I am a Christian writer. I write Devotionals and I write Christian fictional stories of Jesus Christ. My books can be found on www.lulu.com/gpiper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

