The Story of Sigmond the Common Uncommon Housefly

As told By Gary Piper

SigmondThis is the story of a miracle (they do exist you know). It could be the miracle of a common housefly being animated to life by God. It could be a miracle of how God can speak to your heart through a story. It could be a miracle of how words become symbols that can bring healing and entertainment to our lives. The thing with miracles is that sometimes the miracle is in the eye of the beholder, a miracle to one may not be a miracle to another. Sigmond’s story is like that; his miracle lies in what his story can or can not do for you. To me Sigmond’s miracle is that he moved from my imagination to the printed page.

God sometimes uses the common in uncommon ways to make his presence and will known in the world. For example it is very uncommon for a common baby to be born in a stable, yet that is where God choose his Son to be born. It would be very uncommon for a common carpenter to be the Savior of the human race but he was. To humans it is very uncommon for death to bring about life but in Jesus that is exactly what did happen. It is also very uncommon for the Creator of all that exists to reach into our lives and become a part of us but he does. It is sometimes uncommon for a Christian to survive in the common world of today but the Holy Spirit endows and empowers us to do so. When you stop to think about it, life itself is filled with uncommonness.

Sometimes humans have tendency to ask why God he does this or why he does that, it’s okay to ask questions but we need to remember that we are not God and his ways and his thoughts are not ours. And there are times when going on a “fishing expedition” you miss his blessings. The spiritual beginning of Sigmond falls into this category. This story does not start with the physical birth of flies if you want find that out then I suggest you get a good encyclopedia.

Have you ever tried to eat and had a fly either buzzing around you or landing on your food? All you want to do is kill, kill, kill and as you’re trying to swat him you wonder why didn’t Noah swat those two files when he had a chance.

Sigmond’s story begins at the home of the Pager’s Harry age 43, Peggy age 41, John age 10, and Kathy age 8. There was nothing special about their family other than like most folks they live from payday to payday. Harry and Peggy’s marriage on a scale of one to ten was about a two. Their relationship was more like roommates than a loving couple devoted to each other. With both of them working stressful jobs there was little time for the children so the parent child relationship could be rated the same. Tempers were short, the daily attempt to survive in a hostile world added more weight to their already strained lives.

Monday, October 19, 2007 would prove to be both and ending and a beginning for Sigmond and for the Pacer’s. Things had not gone well for Harry at the shop that day and things were not going well at home either. Sigmond always tried to eat from Harry’s part of the table since he was a messy eater and always threw crumbs everywhere. However, on this fateful Monday Sigmond had not eaten all day so he was extra hungry. Sigmond usually swooped in pick up a bite then fly off before Harry could swat him. However on that fateful day because he hadn’t eaten he was a little more sluggish than usual. Because of Harry was angry and frustrated he was a little faster than normal, not a good combination if you know what I mean. Sigmond spotted a piece of beef lying near Harry’s plate and buzzed in for a big bite and BAM the lights went out!

He never even saw the hand as it hit him. He never felt anything either one minute he was heading in for supper and the next minute he was in a state of non‑existence. He was no longer in the Pacer house. He wasn’t in a dark tunnel. There weren’t bright or colored lights around him and there was no one there to greet him. He wasn’t anywhere because there wasn’t anywhere he could be. It was like he was transported to a state of being before creation.

“I got you this time you pesky fly,” Harry said as he brushed Sigmond to the floor.

“Are you just going to leave him there?” Peggy asked sounding angry.

“Darn right I’m gonna leave him there, it ain’t my job to clean the floor that’s your job,” Harry quickly snapped back.

“Sometimes I wonder what I ever saw in you and why I stay married to you Harry Pacer,” Peggy replied raising her voice even higher.

“Well I know why I married you, to clean the floors. And if you don’t like that then you know where the door is. I can always hire a housekeeper,” Harry said as he got up and stomped off.

Peggy, now with tears filling her eyes got up and went to the cupboard for a paper towel. And picked up what was left of Sigmond and took him to the trash can. “Sometimes I wish that father of yours would grow up and help around the house,” she said looking toward the kids.

Neither one of the children responded but then they were so used to hearing the verbal battles between their parents so they were numb to them. For a while John and Kathy chose sides but later realized that they were getting like their parents. So they pledged to each other not to let their parents come between them. As the internal battles raged within the lives of the four Pacers the Creator ignited the flames of life in a small insignificant dead housefly.

As Sigmond floated in nothingness images began forming in his eyes as each image appeared it immediately faded and was replaced by a new one. He tried to determine what the images were but they never lasted long enough for him to have a chance. On and on, faster and faster they came one after another till suddenly all went black. Then he felt the vibrations of a voice deep inside him say, “Let there be Light.” And suddenly Sigmond was blinded by light coming from everywhere. He tried to close all of his eyes but the light still blinded him. A short time later the light began to fade and as it faded Sigmond felt a strange sense of awareness growing within him. As the awareness grew he felt strength and power returning to his frail body. He slowly opened his eyes and began looking around to see where he was but for a moment everything was a big blur. When his eyes focused he found himself in the Pacer’s trash bag.

Then much to his surprise Sigmond began talking. “Where am I and what is happening to me?” Were the first words out of his mouth? But no one answered. He tried his wings; they moved okay but were not strong enough to carry him.

“Where am I and what is happening to me?” He asked a second time. Again there was no response. Something strange had happened inside the little fly, he felt different. For the first time in his life he was able to express himself and he was no longer obsessed with survival. For the first time in his life he wanted to know more about his surroundings yet somehow he knew. Then he remembered the images that had flashed through his eyes, but how could he remember he thought? How could he think, flies do not have that ability. “Will someone please tell me what is happening to me,” he asked again. Again silence is all Sigmond heard.

Sigmond decided to try his wings again. This time he felt power surging through them as he lifted off. Seconds later he was headed for the kitchen. “There’s the refrigerator,” he said to himself. “Hey, how did I know what that was?”

“Sigmond,” a voice called him from somewhere deep inside. It really wasn’t a voice you could hear it was more like vibrations forming in his tiny being.

For an instant Sigmond was stunned and nearly fell out of the air because no one ever tried to communicate with him before. Landing on the ceiling light fixture and regaining his composure he said, “Who said that?” Then he waited for the thoughts to reappear.

“I am the Life Giver and to you my little friend I have given the mysterious gift of life. I have also given you the ability to communicate with the higher species of my creation. Along with those gifts I have given you the wisdom to be a blessing to all you come in contact with. Do not be concerned about your outward appearance but concern yourself only with your inner spirit. When you come in contact with my people see them with your physical eyes but look at them with the eyes of your heart. When you are moved to compassion use the gifts I have given you to bless them. Be not overly concerned because of your surrounding mystery. Be concerned only with being Sigmond the Uncommon Common housefly,” the voice echoed deep inside Sigmond.

Sigmond was awestruck and speechless. When he began to regain his composure the thought crossed his mind to question the voice. As he tried all that would come to his mind was, “Fear not my little friend, but in faith step from the darkness of the present into the light of the future.”

His plans on returning to get something to eat were interrupted by the back door slamming shut. Sigmond noticed Harry standing with the refrigerator door open, “Peggy,” he shouted.

“Peggy, where is my beer?” his louder voice again broke the silence.

“Harry will you please keep your voice down I don’t want the children to hear us again,” Peggy replied entering the kitchen, “There is no beer I told you I don’t like it and I don’t want it in my house. You want a beer go somewhere else.”

Since it was the day before payday and they lived from payday to payday Harry said nothing he just stomped off to the bedroom. Peggy fell into the nearest chair and began crying, “Why God, he’s a good man we used to be so happy? What happened to change everything? Why don’t you please send us some help? We’re not going to make it unless you do,” Peggy Pacer prayed.

As Sigmond watched tears began forming in his eyes. “How will I know when I am moved by compassion?” He asked.

The small voice whispered, “When the eyes of your heart water and you cry for others and not for yourself then you are moving into compassion. When you want to reach out and dry the tears from the eyes of another’s heart then you are moving into compassion.”

Suddenly deep inside Sigmond was not alone, he felt the presence of another. He felt the pain of another. He thought for a moment he heard something break inside himself it was like his heart suddenly broke. Then he felt a sharp pain in the same spot and he began to cry inside. Immediately and without thinking of the danger he flew toward Peggy and landed right in front of her.

When she saw the pesky fly land right in front of her Peggy’s first thought was to smash it into the table thinking that would make things even with Harry. “I can’t do it little fly you and I have too much in common, we’re both pests and people would do better without us.” she said out loud. “Oh, my God look at me I’m talking to a stupid fly like he really hears me and cares!”

Now remember Sigmond understands what’s going on and so he momentarily breathes a sigh of relief because he wouldn’t need to be scraped off the table. “What do you mean stupid fly? What do you mean I can’t hear you or I don’t care,” Sigmond said. “I ain’t stupid, I can hear, I do care, and I can communicate with you.”

“Who said that?” Peggy asked looking around to see if someone else had entered the room

“I did, I’m Sigmond the Uncommon Common Housefly down here on the table,” he replied.

As she got up to go looking for whoever was talking to her it occurred that she was not hearing a voice the words were being impressed into her mind. “Oh my God,” she said out loud, “I am losing my mind I think that fly is talking to me by mental telepathy. I’ve got to go lie down on the couch and get some rest.”

“Please Mrs. Pacer, I know it’s hard for you to believe but I am talking to you and I do want to help you and your family. To show you it is me I’m going to fly twice around your head and then around your shoulders then land on that red spot on your tablecloth,” Sigmond said as he began to fly. About 45 seconds later he landed right where he said he would and waited for her response.

“Listen whoever you are or whatever you are this is too much for me, my life’s in shambles, my marriage is on the rocks, I don’t know what my children think, and a fly is talking to me and wants to help. It’s beyond my ability to understand. It’s. It’s too much for me, my mind is shutting down and playing tricks on me,” Peggy replied covering her face with her hands.

She continued, “Look Sigmond, if you do exist you know nothing about me, my life, my family, or anything. You’re a stupid fly you eat garbage, you infect people and you’re going to help me? If you want to help give me some short of infection that will kill me, that’s the kind of help I need right now. God, if you do exist I needed a miracle and you sent a dumb fly. How in the world am I supposed to take that? What am I suppose to do with a fly?” Standing to her feet she slammed the chair into the table and stomped off to the couch leaving Sigmond alone.

Then quietly from beyond time and space the still small voice of the Great I AM whispered, “The greatest miracle is life itself my child and it is my gift to you. Out of my love for you I also give you the gift of freedom to become who you want to be, absolutely no one can take that from you unless you give it to them. Yourself worth does not depend on how others see you but on how you see yourself. True happiness can develop only as you choose to have a relationship with me. You do not need a miracle to lift you out of your experiences you need only to feel my love and peace in them. You and all my people have been baptized by the positive power of my Holy Spirit you must simply be still and know that I am.”

But the words fell on ears that listened but could not hear. And the Great I AM bowed his head in silence and watched his tears as they fell to the floor of eternity. And in the tiny eyes of his heart Sigmond watched in awe as the Voice cried. “Were you talking to me Lord?” he asked.

“The words were meant for someone else my little friend but apply to you as well, do not fear I am with you always,” Great I AM said as he smiled and dried his tears.

In silence Sigmond stood alone with his thoughts. “What do I do now,” he said to himself. For the longest time Sigmond stood there staring into the darkness of the Pacer’s lives searching for the smallest glimmer of light. Finally the darkness of his thoughts gave way to the safety and peace of sleep. However, while his body rested deep in his spirit there was no rest as millions and millions of thoughts flashed across the eyes of his heart. Suddenly the word FRAGMENTED exploded with such force into his spirit that it temporarily blinded the eyes of his heart and immediately woke him up. He then recalled that as a fly a fly was all he wanted and needed to be but so far in the short existence of his new life it occurred to him that he could become more than just a fly. But even though he could think himself different he was still a fly. “I wonder if that is what the Voice meant about being the greatest miracle,” he asked himself.

“Could it be that the Pacers lives are so fragmented and cluttered that they can no longer be themselves? Could it be that they search and reach to satisfy an empty spirit?” The little fly questioned himself.

As he began thinking of an answer a second explosion rocked his spirit and he saw the word COMMUNICATION flash before his eyes. Sigmond was not familiar with this word because in the insect world communication existed but the insects were never really aware of it. He started to realize we was going into parts of life were new to him, but with boldness and faith he began to learn.

Sigmond discovered that communications was the ability for one to express themselves to another. The next thing he needed to discover is what was communicated. Somehow he heard words when the Pacer’s were talking to each other and when Peggy was to talking to him. But when the Voice talked to him there were no words just thoughts. Then he remembered seeing and feeling the sadness as the Voice cried. And in the tinniest corner of his spirit he began to see that words, pictures, and thoughts communicate feelings. And the little uncommon housefly understood what he needed to do to help the Pacers. Shortly thereafter his wakefulness gave to sleep.

Peggy was awakened by the sound of Harry getting himself ready for work. Not wanting a confrontation so early she lie on the couch as if she were still sleeping. About twenty minutes later she heard the back door slam and then the car squeal away. She then got up and went to awake the children for school. Three quarters of an hour later she found herself alone with her thoughts. Pouring herself a cup of coffee she sat down at the kitchen table and tried to work herself into the day.

“God,” she began, “It’s me, Peggy again facing the same old problems, saying the same old prayer listening to the same old response, nothing. At one time I believed in you, and I thought you were real, but I have discovered that you are only real in my mind. When things go well you are real but when things go bad your reality fades. Endure until the end the bible says. I wonder how many people are living miserable lives enduring waiting for some end that only comes with their own death or the death of their relationships. You want hear something funny? I dreamt last night you sent a fly to help me, a common ordinary housefly, boy am I getting desperate or what? There is still a part of me that wants to believe you are real that you do exist outside of my mind, and you do love me. Please God, help my family.”

Sigmond heard all of Peggy’s prayer and began plotting his next move. Leaving the safety of the ceiling light fixture he landed in front of her. Just as he touched down he caught a glimpse of a shadow coming his way. Instantly his survival instincts as a fly took over and he tried to fly, but couldn’t. His wings moved he could pick up his legs but he couldn’t move. In desperation he called out, “Please don’t kill me, I mean you no harm.” And in less than a heartbeat the hand stopped its deadly journey and the little fly breathed a sigh of relief. Suddenly there was a loud bang and the whole table rocked and shuttered as Peggy’s hand dropped to the table next to him and all fell silent

For the longest time the human and insect looked at each other neither moving. The insect happy to be alive and the human wondering what to think of next, “Aaarrreee, are you for real.” Peggy stuttered.

“I’m as real as you are I have been sent here to help you and your family,” Sigmond replied sounding relieved.

Now let’s pause for a minute and put yourself in Peggy Pacer’s place. Your life is a mess. Your family is about as dysfunctional as a family can get and still live under the same roof. You think God has given up on you, and suddenly you find yourself talking to a fly! How would you react?

Editing here…

A million thoughts shot through her mind logical one’s, illogical one’s, thoughts of fear, doubt, and, anger. Finally after minutes of silence she blurted out, “OK, who sent you, then?” Then immediately thinking to herself how stupid she was talking to fly.

“I will not tell you who sent me. I will let you discover that for yourself. Read in your bible verses four through six in the seventeenth chapter of First Kings,” Sigmond answered and then wondered how he knew that.

Getting her bible Peggy quickly thumbed through until she found the verses the fly told her to read. “What am I doing,” she asked! “A fly is telling me to read the bible. The only thing funnier than that is I’m reading it!”

Peggy began reading how God had commanded the ravens to Feed Elijah, closing the Bible she turned to the little fly. “So, what’s your point?” she asked.

“My point is that sometimes God uses the uncommon you’d never think of things to minister to people. It’s too bad people are sometimes insensitive to how God can and does reach out to them,” Sigmond replied.

“But why a fly? Why one of the dirtiest disease carriers on the face of the earth. You answer that question to my satisfaction and I’ll believe you,” she snapped back.

“You are depressed and ready to give up on life because you are bombarded with negative feelings from the environment you are living in. However, you have the ability to be lifted above it by the power of the Great I am if you so choose. Then the negative feelings that are weighting you down will have no power over you. Flies are the way they are because of their surroundings, most of us are dirty and disease carriers because of what we eat. You humans have a saying that goes, junk in junk out. Now let me ask you a question. Can you see a better way for God to illustrate his ability to bring about change than to take the most disgusting and useless of creation and transform it into something that is useful?” Sigmond asked. “Isn’t it like God do something like that?”

Peggy was still unsure of just what was going on after all she was having a conversation with a fly. But a still small voice from deep inside kept telling her that something very real was taking place. Besides what the fly was saying was making sense. She began formulating an answer but before she could finish she heard someone knocking on the front door.

“Who can that be.” she said to herself as she moved to answer the door. As she walked by the living room window she noticed a police car sitting in front of the house. Immediately she picked up her pace a little almost as if trying to keep up with the beating of her heart. As her hand touched the door knob she was almost running. As she opened the door standing on the porch were two police officers she quickly looked at the expression on their faces. There was trouble.

“Can I help you officers,” her voice trembled.

“May we come in Mrs. Pacer?” the male officer asked.

“Why of course, please do. Is something wrong officers?” she asked already knowing the answer.

“We’re afraid there is,” the female officer began. “There is really no easy way to tell you so we won’t beat around the bush. Your husband has been involved in an industrial accident and has been taken to Mercy Hospital unconscious. We are unable to give you any details other than he was struck in the head by something breaking off a machine next to the one he was operating. If you will get your things and secure your house my partner and I will take you there.”

Peggy began to panic. Harry injured. In the hospital. Did I kiss him goodbye this morning? Did I tell him I loved him this morning? Did I tell him to hurry home before he left? I told him none of those things, we fought, and he slammed out of the house. Harry injured. Harry’s in the hospital. Oh, my God I’ll never see him again. Thought after thought raced through her mind faster and faster.

“Mrs. Pacer are you all right? Would you like to get ready so we can take you to see your husband?” the female officer asked again as she gently touched Peggy’s shoulder.

The touch seemed to free and slow Peggy’s racing mind. “Yes, of course right away. I must go see my Harry,” she said through sobs. She began racing through the house turning off lights, shutting and locking the back door. As she hurried through the kitchen a familiar voice rang out.

“Don’t worry Peggy the Master Healer has got everything under control. Anchor your faith in him and you and your family will weather the storm. Even now the Master Healer touches Harry as only he can,” the voice belonged to a little Uncommon Common Housefly named Sigmond.

“I really hope you’re right, I can’t live without him Sigmond,” Peggy responded.

“Were you talking to us Mrs. Pacer?” the male officer asked.

“Oh no officer I was just praying. Can we go now please?” Peggy asked. As she pulled the door shut there was a small fly setting on the window looking out. Suddenly the apprehension that had been building was now being replaced by peace and deep inside she knew the fly was right.

As the police car moved through the streets of Port Huron the two police officers tried to engage Peggy in some small talk but she didn’t respond. Peggy’s thoughts were millions of miles away in another time, a time of peace and happiness. Suddenly the car jolted as it went over a bump in the road bringing Peggy back to the now. “I’m sorry officers did you say something?” she asked.

“That’s quite all right Mrs. Pacer, it wasn’t anything important, we’re almost there anyway,” came the reply. Just then the patrol car pulled into the hospital parking lot.

“Would you like us to accompany you, Peggy, may I call you Peggy?” the lady officer asked.

“Yes, of course please do call me Peggy. I would really appreciate it if you would go with me, I’m not real sure of just what to expect. I’m sorry I must have missed your names,” Peggy said as she moved quickly for the hospital.

“We’d be happy to go with you. I’m Susan and this is my partner Al,” the lady officer replied.

Al was the first to reach the door, opening it he waited for the two ladies to pass through. Walking up to the desk he said to the receptionist, “This is Mrs. Harry Pacer and her husband was brought in a short time ago. Can you please point us in the right direction?”

After checking the computer terminal the receptionist responded, “Mr. Pacer is still in the emergency room straight down that hall and through those doors.”

Peggy was off like a shot with the two police officers following. As she entered the emergency room she could she Harry straight ahead. Entering the room she quickly noticed all the electronic monitors, walking over to the bed Harry everything looked okay and it looked like he was sleeping.

“Are you Mrs. Pacer?” she heard a voice ask.

Turning around she came face to face with someone who appeared to be a doctor. “Yes I am, can you please tell me what is wrong with my husband, he looks okay?” Peggy asked.

“I am glad you are here Mrs. Pacer, I am Doctor Freeman Quinn,” the young doctor began. “Your husband is resting now he has sustained an injury to the left side of his head that left him unconscious. He was very lucky he was wearing safety headgear that took most of the impact. X-rays of his skull reveal no fractures, his EEG is normal and his vital signs are good we don’t know why he hasn’t awakened yet. Perhaps if he heard your voice it might help.”

Thoughts began racing through her mind. Would he want to hear her voice? Would hearing her voice help him or drive him deeper into sleep? What could she say to him? Of all the things that could have happened why this now, “God, I wish that was me lying there,” she whispered to herself.

On and on, thought after thought, regret after regret suddenly she burst into tears. “What can I say doctor what would help him,” she asked between sobs?

“Anything you want to, Mrs. Pacer. The idea is that encouragement from a familiar voice will sometimes trigger an inner strength within an injured person that will help them fight their injury. It’s not so much what you say it’s your voice they need to hear,” he reassured her.

Wiping away her tears and trying to sound as encouraging as she possibly could she began, “Harry, it’s me Peggy. Can you hear me Harry?” She paused as if she expected him to reply. “I am sorry about this morning and last night Harry. I love you and I don’t like seeing you this way please Harry if you can hear me wake up. We need you.”

She looked into his expressionless eyes and waited for them to open. “Please Harry won’t you wake up and at least shout at me or do something?”

Meanwhile behind his closed eyelids Harry Pacer was anything but motionless. Harry Pacer was not in the hospital but found himself floating in the air he suddenly opened his eyes and found himself at home. “Peggy,” he called as he went from room to room getting no response he called for John or Kathy still there was no response. Then something strange caught his eye, there was nothing in the house to show that anyone but Harry lived there. Gone was Peggy’s entire collection knick knacks from the shelf in fact there was no shelf. Running to John and Kathy’s bedroom Harry found the rooms completely empty. Running even faster to his bedroom he found no evidence of Peggy ever being there.

What is going on,” he shouted. But the only sounds that returned were the echoes of his own voice.

Returning to the living room Harry sat down in his lazy boy chair. “Am I losing my mind?” He said out loud.

“Won’t someone please tell me what is going on? Peggy, John, Kathy, anyone please no more joking around, you’re starting to scare me.”

There was no noise only silence, deadly silence. Harry reached for the TV remote and turned on the TV, there was snow. “Damn cable’s out again,” he remarked. Pushing the button to active the FM receiver the only sound coming from the speakers was a slight frying noise.

Harry could feel his pulse picking up speed going faster and faster as he became more aware of his racing heart. Getting up and moving to the living room window he opened the curtains and was horrified by what he saw.

Nothing, absolutely nothing it was almost as if someone hung a white sheet in front of the window. “What is going on,” he shouted, “Someone tell me what is going on right now!”

“The door,” he said to himself, “I am getting out of this nightmare right now.” Reaching for the door he threw it open in desperation and without looking to a big step. Nothing he had stepped off into nothingness and now he was falling. The only thing faster than his descent was his beating heart and his racing mind. He had heard stories of people when they die having the sensation of falling. “But I don’t want to die,” he cried at the top of his lungs.

Across the ceiling of his mind Harry Pacer saw the words, “If I’m falling that must mean I am going to hell.” Suddenly fear and silence gripped him as his mind went into overload, he lost track of time.

After what seemed like eternity he again shouted, “I don’t want to die.” He began reaching for something to grab so he could stop his fall. Immediately his hand touched something and he gripped it tight straining every muscle as he pulled himself into a room. Opening his eyes he stood in horror it was his own living room.

“What the hell is going on,” he shouted, “Am I in the twilight zone or something?” All he heard in response was silence, nerve racking silence. In hopes of finding someone or some sign of someone Harry ran from room to room searching always with the same result, no evidence of anyone else ever having been there.

Arriving back in the living room, he fell into his lazy boy chair his mind was weary of trying to figure out what was going on. After a few minutes of resting he got out of the chair and headed for the kitchen for something to drink. Opening the refrigerator he found it full of his favorite beer, “Someone’s been here who knows what I like,” he commented to himself as he took out a six pack.

“I wonder what’s to eat,” he said as he opened the freezer door. “All right,” he exclaimed when he saw the contents, it was crammed full of White Castle frozen hamburgers his favorite food. He took five hamburgers and put them in the microwave. Two minutes later he was headed back into the living room with his hamburger supper and his three six pack of Coors. Again falling into his lazy boy he opened a beer and guzzled it quickly, opened another one and guzzled that one. He reached for a hamburger and shoved the whole thing in his mouth and started chewing. He opened two more beers and guzzled them.

After thirty minutes he had eaten five hamburgers and drank about three six packs of beer. As he threw the last can to the floor the room began to spin very fast, “I sure hope my old lady don’t come home now,” he mumbled to himself.

After a few minutes the room stopped spinning long enough for him to fall asleep. As Harry Pacer slept in a world all by himself a small Uncommon Common Housefly named Sigmond turned his attention heavenward and asked, “Is it time yet Life Giver?”

“No, my little friend sometimes a climb to glory and victory must begin with a downward fall to despair and defeat. Before I can put a new spirit into some one the old one must first be expelled. Do not worry Sigmond all is going as planned.”

As Peggy sat holding her husband’s hand she noticed it hard and callused from working so hard for so long. “When was the last time I thanked you Harry for working so hard for us?” She asked him

Memories carried her back in time before life had turned sour for them. Their dreams were big yet simple and obtainable. Strange she thought all their dreams were ones set by each other and not as a couple. As her mind began returning to the present she could see each of Harry’s dreams collapsing and she watched as he slowly withdrew more and more into his own world where he could still be happy. “Why have I been so blind as not to see that, why have I been so selfish?” She asked herself.

“God,” she began to pray, “I don’t understand why I always turn to you as a last resort but I do, so please forgive me for doing so now. Please Lord send my husband back to me and the kids, I promise I will build a positive atmosphere in our home for him. I will do my best to understand his inner feelings and make adjustments within myself. We have both gone through life seeking what we wanted for ourselves but we have not been communicating with each other and helping each other. Can you give us another chance to turn things around, Lord?”

Peggy just barely finished her prayer when all of heaven broke out in celebration, “Glory to God in the highest, another soul has come home,” the Angel chorus sang. And the Creator of all that was, all that is, and all what is yet to be bowed his head and cried tears of joy. Then heaven fell silent again as it turned its attention to the lonely world of Harry Pacer.

Still clinging to the world beyond time Harry woke up the next morning with his head feeling about 4 sizes bigger than it actually was. He rolled off the couch and fell on the floor landing on some empty beer cans. Finally opening his eyes wide enough to see something he scanned the room. Beer cans everywhere hundreds of them. “My God,” he shouted, “when is Peggy going to clean this damn house!”

Seconds later he remembered there was no Peggy. How long have I been this way he thought, and after looking around the room he concluded it must have been days or even weeks.

Harry again checked out each room of the house for any sign of Peggy or the children. Seeing none he then checked each window and opened the front door which also proved the same, nothing. “Will someone please tell me what is going on,” he shouted at the top of his lungs! Then all fell silent, deadly silent. After making a path back to the couch through the empty cans he fell on the couch and started to cry. When was the last time he cried he wondered as his tears flowed freely?

Again Sigmond looked toward the heavens for a sign. And reverberating across the distance between heaven and himself he heard one word from a familiar voice. “Now,” it said.

Sigmond started his wings and flew in the direction of Harry suddenly he remembered it was Harry who swatted him the first time. Would he do it again? If I am killed again will I be dead forever? Do I even want to help a killer?

With each doubt he flew slower and slower until finally he stopped and landed on top of a picture. “It would be so nice to see him suffer a little while longer,” Sigmond said to himself.

Sigmond next looked at the picture he was resting on and noticed it was a picture of Harry. As he gazed at it he saw a different person than the one who had killed him. The Harry in the picture had a look of peace and happiness in his eyes.

Sigmond then looked at the Harry that was on the couch and saw anger, disappointment, and pain in his eyes. Then without any further hesitation Sigmond set off for the couch.

“Lord, why can’t we just go down and lift Harry up?” an Angel inquired of the Life Giver.

After looking deeply into the spirit of Harry Pacer the Life Giver began, “Each soul must come to me of their freewill no one must compromise that freedom. Harry must play out the world he has created for himself until he sees that it is not enough. He must suffer the pain of loneliness and see that his happiness depends on his ability to communicate with those around him. Sigmond can help him to discover that happiness and peace and still leave Harry’s freedom intact. Do not fret everything is going as planned.”

Seconds after leaving the picture frame Sigmond landed on the arm of the couch. He no sooner touched down when Harry began moving to swat the pesky little fly. But Sigmond didn’t move, “I wouldn’t do that if I were you,” he said.

Harry became a momentary statue unable to move, “Who said that? Where are you? What the heck is going on? “

“I did,” the little fly replied, “You would have killed me if I wouldn’t have said something. Are you going to put that hand down or not?”

“Yeah, right! You expect me to believe that you’re a talking fly. I’ll tell you what you are; you’re the last beer I drank. But I’m not kill you, at least not right now anyway. Right now you’re another voice I can at least talk with. So what’s your name fly?” Harry asked sarcastically.

“I am called Sigmond the Uncommon Common Housefly, Harry. And I’m not your last beer I am as real as you are. Do you know where you are Harry?” Sigmond asked

“I thought I was home but the more and more I think about it I’m not sure. I do know one thing there is nothing outside these walls, and there is no one inside these walls but me. Do you know where I am?” Harry asked.

“You are in your own world, a world that you have created to escape the real one. For you this is a world of safety, one where the only responsibility you have is for your own happiness. I am here to help you escape this world. I am here to help you see that a new and better world awaits you with Peggy and the children. Are you ready?” Sigmond asked.

As Sigmond looked into Harry’s eyes he could see pain in them he could see there was still some doubt. But he also caught a little glimmer of hope shinning in them. Sigmond searched his tiny mind for a way to show Harry that he was real, and not a figment of his drunken imagination. Sigmond knew that for Harry it was necessary that he hit bottom before he could be lifted up by the power of the Life Giver. Sigmond also knew that the Life Giver would cushion his fall but not stop it. Suddenly Sigmond’s answer hit him almost like a lightning bolt. For Harry, like most people, flies were the lowest form of life. For Harry to ask Sigmond for help would be an indication that he was ready to make the upward ascent. “Well, are you ready?” Sigmond asked again.

There no response from Harry, he just sat there as if he were a million miles away. As Harry sat on the couch the memories of the life he had with Peggy and the children played in his mind like a video tape player. He helplessly watched as a young newlywed couple tried to put their lives together. Tears formed in his eyes as he slowly watched their happiness seep away. Unable to communicate with Peggy his true feelings he watched as he withdrew more and more. He watched as the children became pawns in the deadly game of survival he and Peggy fought for their own individual happiness.

As Sigmond watched each tear drop fall and disappear into the carpet he noticed that some of them carried a little slivers of guilt, some of them carried a little bits of pride, others carried little bits of anger. After a few minutes of silence Sigmond decided it was time make a move. So he left the arm of the couch and landed right on the back of Harry’s left hand knowing that he was really moving into harm’s way this time. Looking Harry in the eyes he asked, “Well are you ready to let me help you?”

Harry’s first impulse was to kill the pesky fly, “Why on earth had God ever made the darn things in the first place is beyond me,” his mind told him. Instinctively Harry’s right arm moved toward the little fly at lightning speed, and then a loud slap echoed throughout the house.

Just as instinctively Sigmond readied to take evasive moves to preserve his life, yet in less than a heartbeat he decided to take a stand. “I’ve got take a stand if I’m going to help him,” he said to himself. Suddenly it got very dark, just as dark as it was the last time Harry took a swing at him.

Harry slowly moved his hand to see if he had got the fly or it escaped at the last minute. The pesky talking fly was still there. In fact he was walking around!

As the Harry moved his hand and the light returned Sigmond looked toward the heavens and mentally thanked the Life Giver for living up to his name. “For the third time Harry Pacer are you ready for me to help you?” Sigmond boldly asked.

Angered by the flies narrow escape from death Harry took another swat harder than the first again with the same results. And just like the last time Sigmond asked the same question.

Twice more the same sequence of events happened. Then Sigmond didn’t said, “Look Harry, you know you can’t kill me each time you try you always cup your hand at the last minute because you know I’m only one who can help you and deep inside you want help. Why can’t you admit that?”

“As far as I am concerned you and your relatives are the lowest form of life in the world and humans would be better if you were all dead. Right now I feel lower than a fly and I can’t kill you because it would be like killing a part of myself. Look I don’t know if you’re real or just a figment of my sick mind but I don’t want to exist where I am. I don’t know what can be done but I need help,” Harry replied between sobs.

That was the moment of truth for Harry and everyone was now in the place. The angel chorus made ready as it waited for the one word that would bring singing and celebration to heaven and earth. Then from the thunderous voice of the Life Giver it came. It was a word that slammed into the heart and soul of Peggy and Harry Pacer. It was a word that stopped all of time as another soul found its way home. It was a word that sent the Holy Healer flying into the comatose body of Harry.

“Now,” shouted the Life Giver.

As the familiar voice of the Life Giver echoed in Sigmond’s spirit he smiled and turned to fly away knowing that his work was now complete “Where are you going fly,” Harry asked, “aren’t you going to help me?”

“You don’t need my help Harry Pacer, the only one that could really help you was the Life Giver and he simply waited for you to admit you needed his help. He will now give you life, his life and it will be more fruitful than you could ever imagine,” Sigmond replied.

As soon as he spoke the last word Harry‘s body slumped to the couch and became lifeless as his old life died. Almost instantly the heavens opened and the angel chorus thundered across the room, then a blinding white light entered the lifeless form of Harry. Seconds later the light reappeared and shot heavenward and disappeared. Again thunder echoed across the room as the heavens slammed shut and all became still except the sound of the wings of an Uncommon Common Housefly named Sigmond as he went in search of dinner.

As Peggy sat holding the hand of her husband suddenly she could feel it getting warmer. Expectantly she looked into his face and as if a miracle were occurring it turned from a pale white to warm flesh tones. Then simultaneously she felt his hand move and his eyes open.

Sitting up in his bed he looked around he asked, “Where am I? And what I am doing is this bed?”

“You’re in Mercy Hospital Harry; don’t you remember getting hit at work? Something flew off a machine next to you and hit you in the head. Don’t you remember?” Peggy asked.

“Look lover if anything would have hit me in the head I wouldn’t have gotten hurt at all because it sure has been hard the last few years. Say how about shutting the door and you and I having some fun,” Harry said chuckling.

“Oh, Harry really,” Peggy replied sheepishly, “You want someone to find us? What’s going on anyway?”

“Look sweetie pie I love you and I don’t care who knows it. I don’t know what’s going on and I don’t care to know all I do know is that when we get home we’ve got a lot catching up to do. Now how about going and get whoever you can to get me out of this place,” Harry winked and gave Peggy a kiss.

As Peggy left in search of Harry’s doctor she rolled her eyes heavenward and whispered, “Thank you God, I’m not going to ask how or why I’m just gonna love him forever.”

Forty five minutes later Harry’s doctor returned to his room and handed him his discharge papers. “Harry I am not a believer in miracles but what’s taken place here in the last hour or so makes me think I should rethink that belief. There is absolutely no evidence that you were ever injured, not even a bruise. What happened to you while you were out? Where were you?” The doctor asked.

“Doc, I never believed in them either, but now I do because I am one. I can’t tell you what happened to me or where I was because I can’t remember. But I will tell you the real miracle is not that I am awake and unharmed, the real miracle is that I am a new man with a new chance at life. Goodbye and I would believe in miracles if I were you,” Harry smiled.

“Goodbye Mr. Pacer, goodbye Mrs. Pacer and believe me I am beginning to see a side to healing that I have never considered before, divine healing,” the doctor smiled, waved and left the room.

Coming into the lobby Peggy noticed that the two police officers were still waiting. “Oh I am so sorry for not coming out sooner. This is my husband Harry Pacer,” Peggy addressed the two officers.

“That’s your husband,” Al exclaimed, “We thought he was in serious condition.”

“Don’t worry about it Mrs. Pacer, it was a slow night so we were just catching up with some paper work. I’m glad everything is okay,” Susan replied.

“I am glad to meet both of you, thank you very much for seeing to it that Peggy was here. It was a miracle, the doctor tells me there is no sign what so ever that I was ever injured,” Harry said, shaking each of the officer’s hand.

“We sure were praying hard for both of you, we’re glad it worked out like it did. Would you folks like us to drop you off at home?” Officer Al asked.

“Thank you officers, you both have gone above and beyond what is required of you. We just wouldn’t want to impose on you anymore, we’ll just call a friend,” Peggy responded.

“You aren’t imposing we are public servants and you are the public, let’s go or we’ll arrest you for be unwilling to accept our friendship,” Susan said.

Ten minutes later the two officers were walking Peggy and Harry to the door. “If you two are as good at being police officers as you are at praying you’re the best, we can’t thank you enough. Would you like to come in for a minute?” Peggy asked.

“I wish we could but we’ll need to get back on patrol but thank you for your compliments police officers seldom are told that. Goodbye Mr. and Mrs. Pacer,” Al said.

“You call us Mr. and Mrs. again and I’ll turn you in,” Harry replied.

“Okay, don’t do that, Harry,” Al smiled.

“May we call again as friends in a few days Peggy? Do you know about Jesus Christ?” Susan asked.

“Why of course we’d be proud to have you as our friends and it’s been quite a few years since Jesus was a part of our lives,” Peggy started.

“Yes too many years,” Harry interrupted her, “Please come back as soon as you can.”

“Thanks again folks, and I’ll call you in a couple of days, Peggy and maybe we can get together over a pizza or something,” Susan replied.

As Harry entered the house again it seemed strange to him this time, like something was different, like something was warmer. As the two of them walked into the kitchen a fly began buzzing around Harry’s head. “Pesky fly, I’ll get the swatter and get rid of you,” he said angrily.

“Hold it Harry Pacer, not that fly you don’t. That one’s special, that one isn’t your every day common housefly. Leave him alone,” Peggy replied.

Harry looked at his wife and started, “Ya know what Peg, you’re right there is something special about that fly. While I was out I had a dream that I was in a world where only I existed. I had this whole house to myself the refrigerator was always full of my favorite beer and the freezer was always full of White Castles. I was the only one in it boy did I sure have fun, no wife, no kids, no bill collectors calling, no responsibility, and no high pressure job, just me. But that didn’t last long I missed you and I missed all the plans we never started and I missed the kids, I was more lonely then I have ever been.”

Turning and looking for the fly Harry continued, “Then, and you are not going to believe this but a talking fly came along and wanted to help. A pesky, dirty rotten, low life, scummy fly wanted to help me. Why a fly I wondered, I hate them. Just before I woke up I remember looking at that fly and all of sudden I saw myself, I was pesky, dirty rotten, low life, scummy fly. It’s a lonely life, Peggy being in your own world existing just for yourself. I wanted out of the world. I wanted someone to help me escape. I don’t know what happened next I just woke up a new person, the old low life has died and been replaced by the new me. I promise you Peggy I’ll never ever go back to being a low life again.”

“I know you won’t Harry,” Peggy said taking his hand, “Before I received word of your accident I had a visit from a fly who called himself Sigmond the Uncommon Common House fly. Who very wisely pointed out that I have not been there for you either I am here now Harry and I promise you I’ll always be here for you.”

“Deal,” Harry said smiling, “Let’s take the kids to McDonalds and a movie tonight to celebrate our reunion.”

“You got another deal Mr. Nice Guy. It sure is good to have you back Harry,” Peggy said before kissing him.

“It’s great to be back,” was his reply.

Meanwhile high above the reunion on a ceiling light fixture a small insignificant Uncommon Common house fly named Sigmond was rejoicing over the Pacer’s new found happiness. Suddenly Sigmond realized that his work was finished. He was an odd creature now he didn’t feel like a fly, “What now Life Giver?” What becomes of me? Must I return to a lonely world like the one Harry just left because I am different now?”

“Well done my little friend your work has just begun as you search for new friends you will come in contact with many people who with as many needs. Extend our friendship to them I say our friendship because you and I are friends and friends never really separate even though they may not be together, always remember that Sigmond. My friendship will carry you through all the trials you will ever go through, turn to me often and you will have the strength to see you though anything.” And the room became silent.

“Life Giver?” Sigmond said.

“Yes Sigmond?” came the reply.

“I love you,” the little fly said.

“I know,” the Life Giver said.

“Sigmond,” the voice rang out.

“Yes, Life Giver.”

“I love you,” the Life Giver whispered.

“I know,” Sigmond said. Then an uncommon house fly named Sigmond flew in search of an open window so he could go find another friend.

About Crusty the Christian

I am a Christian writer. I write Devotionals and I write Christian fictional stories of Jesus Christ. My books can be found on www.lulu.com/gpiper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

